Select Page

Writing Competition

Click here for Writing Competition Rules & Guidelines
Click here for the Participation Entry Form
Click here for the Heroes Release Form

Congratulations to the Writing Competition Winners!

Joelle Anderson, Hailey Bang, Julia Baxter, Jenna Becker, Hannah Bell, Rachel Betke, Tanner Bohlender, Hannah Bottom, Mackenzie Brabec, Benjamin Brantner, Baylie Brewer, Bailey Bruha, Hannah Cass, Alia Cecil, Chris Chavez, Lesly Cifuentes, Zach Dull, Peter Emanuel, Ella Endorf, Molly Engebretson, Bailey Fitzgerald, Sean Flanagan, Camerine Flores, Caleb Gahan, Natalie Griess, Rebekah Guilford, Lindsey Hartshorn, Cassie Hedlund, Mikayla Higgins, Hannah Husted, Angwai Jok, Haven Kirkendoll, Chloe Kirschenmann, Natalie Knott, Allie Knowlton, Sydney Kohl, Brodrick Kudron, Ben Kunz, Moriah Larrew, Guadalupe Lopez, Zainya McGarrell, Rachel Meinke, Adam Melius, Rachael Meyer, Colton Mitties, Cole Muhle, Nyanup Mut, Chelsea Naber, Erika Nootz, Hannah Oberle, Micah Oetting, Barbara Ortiz, Leilani Perkins-Dunning, Andrew Polk, Brock Ray, Emily Rhynalds, Clara Rich, Jesus Rodriguez, Wade Saddler, Murphy Sears, James Seymour, Garytt Shirey, Jacey Skoda, Zoey Smith, Jared Spiker, Bailey Stanley, Abigail Swanson, Karen Tello, Kaitlyn Tikalsky, Angelina Tran, Tara Tran, Chris Van Nostrand, Lexie Volk, Sammy Weideman, Caitlyn Wiebold, Christian Will, Mason Witt, Jayden Wood;    

 “HEROES AMONG US” Book Cover Artists

    Haven Kirkendoll & Gau Ayaj      

Click here to view pictures of the April 28, 2013 Awards Reception and Book Signing.
Photographs courtesy of Angela Carroll, Gary Plouzek, Linda Arnold, Scott Tinkham and the Visual Voice Photo Forum Service Team.  Thank you! 


About the Writing Competition:
Students in grades 6-12  were invited  to submit an original, non-­fiction work that followed the form of a short story, essay, diary/journal entry, blog, memoir, song lyric or poem that is 500 words or less. With these entries, students would tell a story about a hero known to them personally or a hero within their community whom they wished to recognize. These real-­life stories had to follow all Competition Guidelines and were subject to a plagiarism check. No group efforts were accepted; only creations by individuals will be eligible for judging. All entries were judged by a panel and winning entries published in a limited-­‐edition book entitled Heroes Among Us.   A special reception (with an opportunity for book signing) for winning authors and their “Heroes” was held April 28, 2013 at Lincoln Southwest High School.

Purpose: To learn about and identify “Heroes” known to the students to create a written piece that tells the story of the hero selected.

Theme: Heroes Among Us

Who May Enter: Students in grades 6-12 within a 50-mile radius of Lincoln, Nebraska may enter. The writing submission had to be written by a current student (public, private or home-schooled) as of February, 2013. Click here for Writing Competition Rules & Guidelines.

Instructions for Submission of Writings:  All entries, with completed and signed forms, had to be submitted by a teacher or facilitator (including youth leaders, administrators and/or parents/guardians) on behalf of the student.  Students were asked to contact Anne Woita at 402-890-2528 or with questions or if special arrangements need to be made to submit entries.

Dr. Rita Kean and Pippa White served as Co-Chairs for the Writing Competition.

For Home-Schooled Students — HCFA representative Cathy Harrington served as the liaison to answer questions and facilitate participation.  Hoem-Schooled students were asked to contat Cathy at 402-730-6668 (cell) or via email at to discuss the logistics for submitting entries.

Deadline Date for Submission of Writings:  On-line submissions were accepted beginning December 1 through 5 p.m. December 17, 2012 through the Hildegard Website (  by accessing the “Submit Entries On Line” tab on the left side bar of the website home page.  A completed on-line Competition Participation Entry Form had to accompany the entry.  Original, signed copies of the Competition Participation Entry Form and a ‘Hero’ Release Form (if applicable) were required for HCFA’s files for the winning entries prior to the printing of the book Heroes Among Us.  Teachers/facilitators were contacted at the conclusion of judging to make arrangements for the transmission of these original forms.

Judges for the competition:

Sally Burt, Elizabeth DaSilva, Ruth Ann Lyness, Lori Morin, Susan Streich, Ann Wood, Pat Lee, Jan Stamper, Ardis Moody, Dolores Mather and Carol Easley;

Time of Judging:  The judging took place between December 18, 2012 and February 28, 2013.  All entrants were notified of judging results via email the week of March 11th, 2013.

Judging Criteria:  Click here to download judging rubric